BTV gets six full-fledged centres in divisional cities

Dhaka,  Wed,  20 September 2017
Published : 14 Mar 2017, 16:57:36

BTV gets six full-fledged centres in divisional cities

Six full-fledged centres of Bangladesh Television (BTV) will be established in six divisional cities involving an estimated cost of Tk 13.91 billion aiming to further strengthen the operations of the state-run television.

The Executive Committee of the National Economic Council (ECNEC) on Tuesday approved the establishment proposal, reports UNB.

The approval came from its weekly meeting held at the NEC Conference Room with Ecnec chairperson and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

Briefing reporters after the meeting, Planning Minister AHM Mustafa Kamal said that a total of seven projects were approved involving an estimated cost of Tk 52.38 billion.

“Of the total project cost, Tk 34.55 billion will come from the state exchequer, Tk 559 million from the organisation's own fund while the rest of Tk 17.27 billion from project assistance," he said.

Six are new while another is a revised project among the approved seven projects.

The Planning Minister said initially there was a proposal for setting up five full-fledged BTV centres in the divisional cities of Rangpur, Rajshahi, Khulna, Sylhet and Barisal Division.

Later, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina directed the Ministry of Information and the BTV to establish another full-fledged BTV centre in Mymensingh alongside the already proposed BTV centers.
Editor : A.H.M Moazzem Hossain
Published by the Editor for International Publications Limited from Tropicana Tower (4th floor), 45, Topkhana Road, GPO Box : 2526 Dhaka- 1000 and printed by him from City Publishing House Ltd., 1 RK Mission Road, Dhaka-1000.
Telephone : PABX : 9553550 (Hunting), 9513814, 7172017 and 7172012 Fax : 880-2-9567049
Email :,
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved
Powered by : orangebdlogo