Eight mayor candidates remain on race in NCC polls

Dhaka,  Sun,  24 September 2017
Published : 27 Nov 2016, 19:03:20

Eight mayor candidates remain on race in NCC polls

Eight mayor candidates remain on race in NCC polls
Polls officials in Narayanganj cleared eight candidates to contest for the position of the city mayor.

Independent candidate Sultan Mahmud was disqualified as he failed to submit the required number of voters' support in the nomination documents, reports bdnews24.com.

The eight candidates are Awami League's Selina Hayat Ivy, BNP's Shakhawat Hossain, Inu-led JaSaD faction's Moslem Uddin Ahmed, Mahbubur Rahman Ismail from Biplobi Workers’ Party, Rashed Ferdous Sohel from Bangladesh Kalyan Party, Mufti Masum Billah of the Islami Andolan Bangladesh and independent candidate Mezbauddin Bhulu.

Returning Officer Nuruzzaman said those who were denied nomination can appeal to Dhaka’s Divisional Commissioner.

The elections are slated for Dec 22 while the deadline to withdraw nominations is Dec 4. –RH
Editor : A.H.M Moazzem Hossain
Published by the Editor for International Publications Limited from Tropicana Tower (4th floor), 45, Topkhana Road, GPO Box : 2526 Dhaka- 1000 and printed by him from City Publishing House Ltd., 1 RK Mission Road, Dhaka-1000.
Telephone : PABX : 9553550 (Hunting), 9513814, 7172017 and 7172012 Fax : 880-2-9567049
Email : editor@thefinancialexpress-bd.com, fexpress68@gmail.com
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved
Powered by : orangebdlogo