What happens if Champions Trophy semis are washed out?

Dhaka,  Wed,  23 August 2017
Published : 13 Jun 2017, 21:56:47
printer

What happens if Champions Trophy semis are washed out?

CARDIFF, June 13: The 2017 ICC Champions Trophy has moved into the semifinal stage, with England, Pakistan, India and Bangladesh making it through to the last four.

A huge concern for cricket fans all around the world is that the English weather may play spoilsport, robbing the viewers of two potentially cracking semifinals.

Interestingly, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has kept reserve days only for the summit clash of the tournament, and none for the semifinals.

So what happens if one, or both of the semifinals are washed out due to rain?

The ICC rules state that the team that topped their respective group will go through in case of a rain wash-out.

This means that England will go through to the final, if their semifinal against Pakistan gets washed out as they topped Group A. Meanwhile, India will hold the same advantage over Bangladesh in the second semifinal, if that match gets washed out as well.

Interestingly, the ICC has included specific rules for the knockout matches, in case they end in a tie. If both the teams end with the same number of runs in either of the semifinals, they would have to play a Super Over. source – Deccan Chronicle

 
ADDRESS
Editor : A.H.M Moazzem Hossain
Published by the Editor for International Publications Limited from Tropicana Tower (4th floor), 45, Topkhana Road, GPO Box : 2526 Dhaka- 1000 and printed by him from City Publishing House Ltd., 1 RK Mission Road, Dhaka-1000.
Telephone : PABX : 9553550 (Hunting), 9513814, 7172017 and 7172012 Fax : 880-2-9567049
Email : editor@thefinancialexpress-bd.com, fexpress68@gmail.com
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved
Powered by : orangebdlogo
close