Mohiuddin-led panel sweeps FBCCI poll

Dhaka,  Tue,  26 September 2017
Published : 16 May 2017, 00:17:42

Mohiuddin-led panel sweeps FBCCI poll

New directors to select president today
FE Report

The newly-elected (both nominated and elected unopposed) directors of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI) will choose their president, first vice-president and vice-president for 2017-2019 tenure today (Tuesday), officials said.

"The newly-elected and nominated directors will choose their president, first vice-president and vice-president at the country's apex trade-body office on Tuesday," an official of public relations section of FBCCI told the FE on Monday.  

Two panels - Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin-led Sommilito Gonotantrik Porishod (SGP) and Abdul Motaleb-led Babosayee Oikya Forum (BOF) - contested in the election on Sunday.

SGP won 16 director posts while BOF bagged two posts in the poll, out of 18 from the association group.

The total number of voters from the association group was 1,898. Of them, 1,669 cast votes for electing 18 directors for representing the group in the apex trade-body. Out of the total votes, 32 were cancelled because of improper casting of vote on the ballot papers.

There are 60 posts on the FBCCI board of directors. A total of 42 directors have already been elected unopposed (18 directors from the chamber group were elected unopposed, while 12 were nominated from the chamber group and 12 from the association group).

Usually, voters elect 36 directors - 18 each from the association group and the chamber group - to the board of the country's apex chamber.

The government has already nominated 24 directors - 12 from the chambers and 12 from the associations.

Majority of the directors (elected unopposed and nominated both from the chamber and the association groups) have hinted that they will elect Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin as the next president of FBCCI, sources said.

The new directors, nominated by the government, are from Bangladesh Women Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Chittagong Women Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Real Estate and Housing Association of Bangladesh and Bangladesh Association of Information and Software Services.

The candidates who were elected from SGP panel are - Khandaker Ruhul Amin, Abu Motaleb, Mir Nizam Uddin Ahmed, Shafiqul Islam Vorosha, Muntakim Ashraf, Shomi Kaiser, Rashadul Hossain Chowdhury (Ronni), Habib Ullah Dawn, Shafquat Haider, Amzad Hussain, Nizamuddin Rajesh, Hafez Harun, S M Jahangir Hossain, Md Abul Ayes Khan, Abu Naser and Khondokar Moinur Rahman (Jewel).

Dr Kazi Ertaza Hassan and Helena Jahangir were elected directors from BOF.
Editor : A.H.M Moazzem Hossain
Published by the Editor for International Publications Limited from Tropicana Tower (4th floor), 45, Topkhana Road, GPO Box : 2526 Dhaka- 1000 and printed by him from City Publishing House Ltd., 1 RK Mission Road, Dhaka-1000.
Telephone : PABX : 9553550 (Hunting), 9513814, 7172017 and 7172012 Fax : 880-2-9567049
Email :,
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved
Powered by : orangebdlogo