Joya Sengupta takes oath as MP

Dhaka,  Wed,  23 August 2017
Published : 16 Apr 2017, 19:18:15

Joya Sengupta takes oath as MP

Joya Sengupta, newly elected lawmaker from Sunamganj-2 constituency, took oath on Sunday.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath at the Sangsad Bhaban, reports UNB.

Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Mia, Chief Whip ASM Feroz, Whip M Atiur Rahman Atik, Whip Mahbub Ara Begum Gini, SM Abul Kalam Azad, MP, and Pankaj Nath, MP were, among others, present.

Awami League candidate Joya Sengupta, wife of late ruling party lawmaker Suranjit Sengupta, was elected MP in the by-election to Sunamganj-2 constituency held on March 30.

The parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of Suranjit Sengupta who died at a city hospital in the capital after prolonged illness. –RH
Editor : A.H.M Moazzem Hossain
Published by the Editor for International Publications Limited from Tropicana Tower (4th floor), 45, Topkhana Road, GPO Box : 2526 Dhaka- 1000 and printed by him from City Publishing House Ltd., 1 RK Mission Road, Dhaka-1000.
Telephone : PABX : 9553550 (Hunting), 9513814, 7172017 and 7172012 Fax : 880-2-9567049
Email :,
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved
Powered by : orangebdlogo