Citi awards best microentrepreneurs

Dhaka,  Fri,  22 September 2017
Published : 15 Apr 2017, 17:33:51

Citi awards best microentrepreneurs

Citi awards best microentrepreneurs
FE Online Report 
The winners of the 12th Citi Microentrepreneurship Awards (CMA), sponsored by the Citi Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Citigroup, were formally announced on Saturday at a special ceremony, according to a press statement.

Mr A H M Mustafa Kamal, Minister for Planning graced the programme as chief guest while Mr M A Mannan, State Minister for Finance and Planning attended the programme as special guest.

Mr S K Sur Chowdhury, a deputy governor of Bangladesh Bank attended as guest of honour and Professor Wahiduddin Mahmud, chairperson of the 12th CMA Advisory Committee, chaired the programme, 

The distinguished guests presented a crest, cheque and certificate to each of the fourteen winners in six categories.

Under the Best Microentrepreneur of the Year Category: Md. Zillur Rahman Chowdhury from Shaluka, Naogaon awarded the ‘Best Microentrepreneur of the Year’ who received TK 450,000. In the same catatgory, Md. Saiduzzaman Sarkar from Sherpur, Bogra awarded First Runner-up (Tk 150,000); Md. Azijul Hoque Sikder from Taltali , Barguna as Second Runner-up (TK 100,000). 

Under the ‘Best Women Microentrepreneur of the Year’ Category: Ms. Ruma Akter from Bajrayogini, Munshiganj awarded as the ‘Best Woman Microentrepreneur of the Year’ (award money: Tk 350,000); Ms. Fazilatun Nessa from Mohammadpur, Dhaka as First Runner TTk 150,000); and Ms. Rubama Sharmin from Dampara, Chittagong as Second Runner-up (Tk 100,000). 

Under the ‘Best Youth Microentrepreneur of the Year’ Category, Mr. Md. Rubel Dewan from Ashulia, Savar awarded as the ‘Best Youth Microentrepreneur of the Year’ (Tk 350,000); Mst. Rahima Khatun (Mukta) from Gobindaganj, Gaibandha as First Runner-up (Tk 150,000); Md. Taifur Rahman Raju from Bera, Pabna as Second Runner-up (Tk 100,000). 

Under the ‘Best Microentrepreneur of the Year in Agriculture’ category, Ms Saima Khatun from Shyamnagar, Satkhira awarded as the best microentrepreneur (Tk 350,000). Md. Altaf Hossain from Khansama, Dinajpur awarded as First Runner( TK150,000) and Md. Nurul Amin Sardar from Zajira, Shariatpur as Second Runner-up (Tk 100,000).

Mr James Morrow, sub-cluster head of Citi Bangladesh and Srilanka; Mr Rashed Maqsood, managing director & country officer of Citi Bangladesh; Ms Zahida Fizza Kabir, executive director of Sajida Foundation; Mr Md. Abdul Awal, executive director of Credit and Development Forum also attend the event among others. 
Editor : A.H.M Moazzem Hossain
Published by the Editor for International Publications Limited from Tropicana Tower (4th floor), 45, Topkhana Road, GPO Box : 2526 Dhaka- 1000 and printed by him from City Publishing House Ltd., 1 RK Mission Road, Dhaka-1000.
Telephone : PABX : 9553550 (Hunting), 9513814, 7172017 and 7172012 Fax : 880-2-9567049
Email :,
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved
Powered by : orangebdlogo