Blast disease: 5 S-W dists advised not to cultivate wheat

Dhaka,  Sun,  24 September 2017
Published : 24 Nov 2016, 22:47:17

Blast disease: 5 S-W dists advised not to cultivate wheat

The Department of Agriculture Extension (DAE) has advised the farmers of five southwestern (S-W) districts of Bangladesh not to cultivate wheat as these districts saw the breakout of ‘wheat blast’ disease last year.

According to DAE officials, wheat blast was spotted in Kushtia, Meherpur, Chuadanga, Jhenidah and Jessore last year where many wheat farmers were adversely affected due to the alien disease.

“Farmers are discouraged to cultivate wheat in seven districts of the country, including the five southwester districts, to check any wheat blast outbreak further,” DAE deputy director of Jossore office Emdad Hossain Sheikh has said.

Claiming that the DAE has already taken various programmes to make the farmers aware of the wheat blast disease, he said there is no alternative to suspension of wheat cultivation to check it.

According to official estimates, the blast disease last year affected 15,000 hectares of wheat fields in Jessore, Kushtia, Chuadanga, Meherpur, Jhenidah, Magura, Barisal, and Bhola causing up to 40 per cent of crop damage, reports UNB. – bz

Editor : A.H.M Moazzem Hossain
Published by the Editor for International Publications Limited from Tropicana Tower (4th floor), 45, Topkhana Road, GPO Box : 2526 Dhaka- 1000 and printed by him from City Publishing House Ltd., 1 RK Mission Road, Dhaka-1000.
Telephone : PABX : 9553550 (Hunting), 9513814, 7172017 and 7172012 Fax : 880-2-9567049
Email :,
Copyright © 2017. All rights reserved
Powered by : orangebdlogo